Lower Paxton Township
425 Prince Street
Harrisburg, PA 17109
Local News

Ready America: Prepare, Plan, Stay Informed

Heart Smart/Street Wise

Community Events

Community Calendar

Featured Links

The Friendship Center

Frequently Called Numbers
Main Switchboard

(717) 657-5600

Police Department

(717) 657-5656

Public Works Department

(717) 657-5615

Sewer Department

(717) 657-5617

Parks and Recreation Department

(717) 657-5635

Supervisor's Voice Mail

(717) 724-8327

Office Hours
M-F 8am-5pm

Parks and Recreation Board

The Parks and Recreation Board acts in an advisory capacity on park development and recreation programming.  This seven-member body is responsible for directing the Parks and Recreation Department in the development and administration of policies, programs, and facilities.  Members serve staggered five-year terms.


Stanley Smith
Kirby A. Lentz
Mary Jane Hornung
James Seidler
Glen Haffer
Mayur Patel
Neal A. Johnson

Staff Liaison: Terry Bauknight
Planning Commission
The Planning Commission is a seven-member advisory body on all planning and zoning matters.  The Commission reviews and makes recommendations on all land use, subdivision, and land development proposals, as well as the township's comprehensive plan and related land use regulations.  Members serve staggered four-year terms.

Lori Staub
Dianne Moran
Lisa Schaefer
Stephen Libhart
Fredrick W. Lighty, Chairman
W. Roy Newsome, Jr.
Douglas Grove

Jeffrey Kline (Alternate)

Staff Liaison: Amanda Zerbe

Public Safety Committee
The Public Safety Committee is an advisory body in regard to police, fire, emergency medical services, and emergency preparedness issues.  The Committee consists of the fire chiefs and presidents of the township's three fire companies, the Public Safety Director, the Fire Marshal, the Emergency Operations Center coordinator, and a representative from South Central Emergency Medical Services.  Members are appointed on an annual basis.
Members: Membership on the Committee is based upon service in one of the above referenced capacities.

Friendship Center Operating Board

The Friendship Center Operating Board is an advisory body for the day-to-day operation and management of the Friendship Center, as well as planning and development of the Center’s future capital needs.  This Board is comprised of one representative from the Board of Supervisors; one representative from the Parks and Recreation Board; and five at-large representatives from the township.  Members appointed for staggered three-year terms.

Members: Bruce Senft
David Berra
John Deiter
Tom Thomas
Denise Hussar
John Dougherty, Chairman

Staff Liaison: Lynn Wuestner
~1 - 2 - 3~